I know I've gone on and on and on here about my inability to figure out a math problem with any success and much crying concerning another knitting project.  Well, peeps, there's more math in Level 2 than you can shake a stick at and it is totally unintelligible to me. Me. The Master's Math Moron. 


There's the whole damn gauge thing with cables again and then a question about measuring a swatch of lace to figure out how many this and that it would take to make a 12 +12 pillow top. I can't even get through reading the steps to figuring this out without getting a headache, a stomach ache and the urge to kick the table over. I know the Master's people only have our best knitting interests in mind but I'm beginning to hate them. I feel as though I'm tilting at windmills doing this and I will never, ever finish and that the whole committee is laughing at me for even trying.  


I had to have my daughter come over again to help me. The one who took advanced calculus in school just for the hell of it. She doesn't knit but that minor point doesn't matter. It was the problem, the calculating of the problem, and then all those horrid decimal points that I knew she knew how to do without crying. She enjoys numbers as much as I enjoy knitting and I say 'hooray'! We all need the skills of others to help us get through life. 


She read the problem over, had a way to solve it that I didn't understand at all and had me near tears again. I can figure other stuff out....why not this? Sigh. I have a brain that just has a little blank space where the math portion should be. Then...a light bulb went on in the sewing part of my brain! I needed a tape measure not a pencil. I needed something with marks on it that I could see. Not some series of plus and minus signs, decimal points and question marks. That's for sissies. I measured the top, middle and bottom of the damn cable swatch and got the same answer for alleviating cable flare as she did. Success!! That is how I would fix a dress that was a little too tight in the waist and the same applies to a cable that pulls in. I really have to use my sewing brain more because I've been able to make fabric fit since the '60s. And that was before I was kicked out of math class for being the stupidest person on earth. 


All I can hope for now is that the committee accepts my long winded story on how I figured out the problem. If I have to show my work it will be with stick figure drawings. Me + tape measure+ swatch = 3 stitches. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.