Picture
Well, here I am....first of the New Year and back in the crazy-making world of working on the Master's Knitting Program...Level 2. It's so much more complicated than Level 1 and I'm trying like hell to be more organized about it. The long table we set up for the big Christmas meal is still up and now covered with reference books and binders and papers and many little snips of yarn. I find it's a great place to work...to be able to spread things out so that I can see them instead of digging through this pile and that pile and where in the hell did the other pile go? I don't know as though hubby is going to be thrilled with the table being up for any length of time but it is so much easier to sew up a mattress stitch seam on a table than in a lap. With a cat on it. 


I think my knitting looks better this time around and I'm being way more careful with the cast on and bind off. I even found a way to minimize that big last stitch of the bind off. Mary Forte says to put the needle knit-wise into the stitch below the remaining stitch and then through the back loop of the remaining stitch. Knit them together, finish your bind off and ..Bob's your uncle...you get a nice looking last stitch instead of that big nasty loopy thing. It's magic. I found this blessed article in the 'On Your Way to the Master's archives of fascinating articles on the TKGA website and have printed out most of them and put them in a binder. And highlighted and tabbed the hell out of them. They save me lots of time and most answers are found in those articles. 


Hubby gave me the giant and unwieldy Principles of Knitting for Christmas and it is also a life saver in the working of the program. It has every answer to every question a person would ever want to know about knitting. It's a huge book and is way easier to read flat on that Christmas dining table than it is sitting on your lap on the couch. It still needs to be tabbed because it hurts my incision to flip a mass of pages back and forth looking for that thing I just saw the last time I was in it. It's fabulous though, I can't say enough about the book and the bibliography alone is worth the price of admission. 


Every swatch, every question and every darn thing you do has to have one or more references noted and this is my problem now. The answer to Question 1. I'm stalled even before I really begin. There are 19 questions to answer, some of them easy and some of them look ungodly hard but this first one.....I can find no definitive answer to in my piles of books, the fabulous Principles of Knitting and my binder of articles. Does that mean that I write what I think the answer should be? I know in my head what the answer is but in everything I've read about seaming two pieces of knit together nowhere does it start with what the answer to the question is. How can I make a reference to nothing? To what is in my head? And if I do they will surely send all my stuff back with a long note about what I did wrong. Hell. 


I think I am just going to move forward and leave that silly question for the end. Perhaps I will come upon it as I am looking for something else. I have 3 swatches down and many, many more to go so the time I spend dithering over this question is time wasted. I need to knit an argyle sock and a full sized vest so I hope to god the question answers itself along the way. 


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.